• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.


Things You Should Know About High School Equivalency in New York

Page history last edited by mark.trushkowsky@mail.cuny.edu 7 years, 8 months ago



Things You Should Know About High School Equivalency in New York


The Main Idea


  • As of January 2014, the GED® exam is no longer available in New York State. The GED® exam will still be available in some other states.


  • Beginning in early 2014, our students will be taking a new assessment called the TASC - Test Assessing Secondary Completion - developed by CTB/McGraw Hill.


Some Background


  • There is no such thing as a “GED diploma” and there never was. When someone passed the GED® test, they earned a High School Equivalency (HSE) diploma, awarded by the NYS Board of Regents. New York State will now use the TASC to award High School Equivalency (HSE) diplomas, starting in 2014.


  • The TASC will be based on the Common Core Standards and the Next Generation Science Standards. The Common Core Standards (CCS) are a set of educational standards for K – 12, in both English Language Arts and Mathematics. The New York State Department of Education has stated that adult education instruction in NY should be fully aligned with the Common Core by 2017.


The New Test: TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion)


  • In March 2013, NYSED awarded a three-year contract to CTB/McGraw Hill to create a new high school equivalency assessment for NY- the TASC. The TASC is the only NYSED sanctioned test and beginning in January 2014 it will be the primary pathway to earning a HSE diploma in NY. 

  • The TASC will be free to test takers.

  • Similar to the GED® test, the TASC is made of 5 content areas - Math, Science, Social Studies, Writing and Reading.

  • The TASC will be a moving target. The test will change each year over the next three years (2014-2016):
    • Each year, the TASC is expected to become more and more aligned with the Common Core. That means the questions and the content will become more and more challenging.
    • In 2014, the TASC will mostly be a paper and pencil exam. It is expected that by 2016, 60% of testing in NY will be computer-based.
    • The TASC will implement more sophisticated uses of technology, which will allow for more complex kinds of questions. 


  • Students will be able to take the TASC three times a year, with a minimum wait time of 60 days between tests 


Roll-over Policy for Partial Passing Scores from GED® Exam to the TASC


  • The first time students take the TASC, they will need to take the whole exam, even if they already have already passed some sections of the GED® exam. 


  •  Students who received a passing score of 410 or higher on any section of the GED® exam (between 2002 and 2013) will receive credit on the TASC for having completed that subject area. Students may use up to four (4) passing GED® sub-test scores towards passing the TASC.


  • Students who earned at least a 410 in all five (5) sections of the GED® exam, but who did not earn a 2250, will receive a High School Equivalency Diploma upon passing any one section of the TASC. Again, students in this situation would still need to take the entire TASC.


  • The roll over of GED® scores will be applicable for up to two years, starting at the end of January 2014.





Prepared by the CUNY Adult Language and Literacy Program                                                                             

Updated January 2014


Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.